Awards Banquet

January 26, 2019

Troop 491 Scout Hut
505 Columbia River Rd
Montgomery, TX 77316

Dinner will begin at 7:00 pm.

Each year the George Strake District comes together for a night of fellowship and camaraderie and recognizes those Scouts and Scouters that have exemplified the Scout Oath and Law in their service to George Strake's troops, packs, crews, posts, and district.

2017 District Award Banquet Pictures


The registration fee is $11.50 for the first ticket and $10 for each additional ticket. 2017 Eagle Scouts are invited to attend. Register online with credit card, electronic check or PayPal.  There is no onsite registration. Registration closes 1/21/2017.  Council refund policy.

Registration opens in December

Award Nominations

Due January 1st

Do you know a volunteer who deserves recognition? Adult volunteers devote untold hours to fulfilling BSA's mission to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.  Those volunteers deserve a pat on the back every once in a while; here’s the perfect way to recognize a deserving volunteer. The George Strake District Committee is soliciting nominations for the following district awards. Submit nominations to District Chair Mike Mathena.  

Nomination Form

  • Silver Beaver Award  The Silver Beaver Award is the council-level distinguished service award. Recipients are registered adult leaders who implement the Scouting program and perform community service through hard work, self-sacrifice, dedication, and many years of service.
  • District Award of Merit  The district committee presents this award for continuous service to the Scouting program at the district level.
  • Chartered Partner Award  Presented to chartered partners that have demonstrated excellence in relationships.  Recipients demonstrate outstanding or distinctive relationships beyond the normal expectation; provide noteworthy service to youth, contributing to increased youth participation; cooperate with the district and/or council; involve the instructional head in the selection of quality unit leadership, and cause greater comprehension in the use of Scouting within the community organization.
  • Commissioner of the Year  The recipients are selected by the district commissioner for outstanding commissioner service to units in the district.
  • Family of the Year  The George Strake District Committee presents the Family of the Year to the family that is committed to supporting the district and the Scouting program.
  • Pine Tree Award  Presented to outstanding volunteers who have supported the district above and beyond the call of duty.
  • Leroy Golson Award  The Leroy Golson Award is given to a dedicated worker who often labors behind the scenes.
  • Scout of the Year  This award is presented to the outstanding youth in the George Strake District who has performed above and beyond the call of duty in service to Scouting, community, church and the district. 
  • Scout Leader of the Year  Presented for outstanding unit service. The award may be presented to several unit leaders.
  • Scout Leader’s Training Award  The recipients of this award are selected by the district training chairman.
  • Spirit of Scouting Award  Presented to an individual or unit who has shown extraordinary Scouting spirit through ongoing efforts or on a specific project.


Award History

family of the year graphicThe George Strake District Committee presents the Family of the Year to the family that is committed to supporting the district and the Scouting program. The recognition is an award selected by the District Committee.


  • Anyone may nominate a family for this recognition
  • Nominations must be submitted to the District Recognition Chairman by the start of the December District Roundtable Meeting
  • Fill out the District Nomination form. Additional information may be attached.
  • A photo attached is optional but helpful. 
Minimum Qualifications: None 


2017 - Hammond Family, Hendricks Family, and Laraway Family

2016 - Christian Family and Garner Family

2015 - Larry & Debbie Quan Family

2014 - Mat & Ann Burt Family

2013 - Rush Family

2012 - Jason & Melanie Hodges Family

2011- Tony & Lisa Day Family

2010 - 

2009 - Walter & Pat Brown Family

2008 - Andy & Ruth Jost Family

2007 - Henry & Gina Avila Family

2006 - Glen & Dana Grant

2005 - Craig & Terry Davis

2004 - Surrey & Susan Ewing

2003 - Kevin & Josephine Smith

2002 - Craig & Roberta McPhie

2001 - Dave & Allison Rogers

2000 - Chris & Sharon Sorensen

1999 - Ernie & Linda Sutter

1998 - John Unger Family

1997 - Allen & Nancy Roberts

1996 - Roy & Tina Wallace

1995 - Bill & Labana Berry

1994 - David & Lenese Cantrill

1993 - Robbery Vann Family

1992 - Bill & Leneta Matchett / John & Sandy Sanders

1991 - Wayne & Holly Jackson

1989 - Doug & Connie Davidson



For questions, contact Mike Mathena.